General News

FISU Games, World Junior Teams Announced

In addition to the announcement of the senior national team for the FINA World Championships Sunday, Swimming Canada also announced national teams for two other important development meets.

A total of 24 swimmers (10 men, 14 women) will represent Canada at the FISU Universiade in Taipei. Many top athletes have competed at these world university games in past years. For example, in 2015 backstroker Kylie Masse emerged with a gold medal at the Universiade, and one year later became an Olympic medallist. The event takes place from Aug. 19-30, with swimming scheduled for Aug. 20-27.

Meanwhile, Canada will be sending a strong contingent to the FINA World Junior Swimming Championships in Indianapolis. Canada’s 14-member team will include quadruple Olympic medallist Penny Oleksiak, double Olympic medallist Taylor Ruck, and senior worlds team members Kayla Sanchez and Rebecca Smith. With the championships set for Aug. 23-28, it will be a quick turnaround for the members of the team returning from senior worlds, which end July 30 in Budapest, Hungary.

Canada won 12 medals at the 2015 edition of the world juniors, with Ruck winning gold in the 100-m and 200-m freestyle, while Oleksiak took silver in the 50-m and 100-m butterfly and 100-m freestyle. Oleksiak, Ruck, and Smith were also part of three relay medals, including gold and a world junior record in the mixed 4×100-m free relay.

The full team lists are below:

Taipei 2017 FISU Games (Summer Universiade)


Iain McDonald – Team Leader
Vlastimil Cerny – Head Coach
Mark Perry – Head Coach, Open Water
Claude St-Jean – Coach
Marc-Andre Pelletier – Coach

Bailey Andison – Perth Stingrays Aquatic Club
Jeremy Bagshaw – Island Swimming Club – HPC Victoria
Josiah Binemma – Edmonton Keyano Swim Club
Tristan Cote – Etobicoke Swim Club
Sarah Darcel – Island Swimming Club, HPC Victoria
Jade Dusablon – Club Aquatique Montreal
Sarah Fournier – C.N. Région de Québec
Mackenzie Glover – University of Manitoba Bisons Swimming
Kennedy Goss – Granite Gators
Philippe Guertin – Club Aquatique Montreal
Danielle Hanus – Island Swimming Club – HPC Victoria
Eric Hedlin – Pacific Coast Swimming
Rob Hill – Chena Swim Club
Jacqueline Keire – Oakville Aquatic Club
Alex Loginov – Toronto Swim Club
Danica Ludlow – University of Calgary Swim Club
Luke Reilly – UBC Dolphins Swim Club – HPC Vancouver
Katerine Savard – Club Aquatique Montreal
Kierra Smith – Liquid Lightning Swim Club
Lauren Teghtsoonian – Manta Swim Club
Markus Thormeyer – UBC Dolphins Swim Club – HPC Vancouver
Eli Wall – Toronto Swim Club
Kelsey Wog – University of Manitoba Bisons Swimming
Alexia Zevnik – Pointe-Claire Swim Club

Indianapolis 2017 FINA World Junior Swimming Championships

Ruslan Gaziev – Etobicoke Swim Club
Jade Hannah – Island Swimming Club, NextGen-Victoria
Faith Knelson – Island Swimming Club, NextGen-Victoria
Victoria Kwan – Markham Aquatic Club
Jaren Lefranc – Kisu Swim Club
Gabe Mastromatteo – Kenora Swimming
Penny Oleksiak – Toronto Swim Club, HPC Ontario
Katja Pavicevic – Toronto Swim Club
Alexander Pratt – Cascade Swim Club
Taylor Ruck – Unattached Canada
Kayla Sanchez – Ajax Aquatic Club, HPC Ontario
Rebecca Smith – Scarborough Swim Club, HPC Ontario
Mabel Zavaros – Oakville Aquatic Club
Rosie Zavaros – Oakville Aquatic Club


Brad Dingey – NextGen-Victoria
Tina Hoeben – Kisu Swim Club
Dave Johnson – Cascade Swim Club


Ken McKinnon – Team Leader


Story and Photo from Swimming Canada |