General News

Canadian Wrestling Team Nominated for Rio 2016

At an event adjacent to Niagara Falls, the Canadian Olympic Committee (COC) and Wrestling Canada Lutte officially unveiled the eight athletes nominated to represent Team Canada in wrestling at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games from August 5 to 21, 2016.

The eight athletes selected include: Jasmine Mian, Jillian Gallays, Michelle Fazzari, Danielle Lappage, Dorothy Yeats, Erica Wiebe, Korey Jarvis, and two-time Olympian Haislan Garcia.

Canada qualified two women’s weight classes (48kg, 63kg) at the Las Vegas UWW World Championships in September 2015. The remaining women’s weight classes (53kg, 58kg, 69kg, 75kg) as well as the men’s freestyle 125kg were qualified at the Pan Am continental qualifier in Frisco, Texas in March 2016. Most recently, the men’s freestyle 65kg weight class was qualified at the final global Olympic qualification event in Istanbul, Turkey in early May 2016.

The team is currently at a training camp at Brock University in St. Catharines, Ontario where preparations include on-mat and off-mat physical training with a select group of international training partners from Germany, Finland, Latvia, Estonia and the United States. During this time, there will also be final Olympic planning, health status checks, one-on-one meetings with coaches and staff, as well as team bonding. The camp represents the last time the entire team will be together before they travel to Rio.

At Rio 2016, Canada expects to field a team of more than 315 athletes.

Wrestling Canada Lutte is the national sport governing body for Olympic style wrestling in Canada. Among its responsibilities, the association selects and prepares Canada’s teams that participate in international competitions including Continental Championships, World Championships and major multi-sport Games (ie. Olympic Games).

The wrestling team which will represent Canada at Rio 2016 includes:

Jasmine  Mian, Barrie, ON – FW 48 kg
Jillian Gallays, Saskatoon, SK – FW 53 kg
Michelle Fazzari, Caledonia, ON – FW 58 kg
Danielle Lappage, Olds, AB – FW 63 kg
Dorothy Yeats, Montreal, QC – FW 69 kg
Erica Wiebe, Stittsville, ON – FW 75 kg
Haislan Garcia, Coquitlam, BC – FS 65 kg
Korey Jarvis, Elliot Lake, ON – FS 125 kg

Women’s National Coach – Leigh Vierling, Calgary, AB
Coach – Marty Calder, St. Catharines, ON
Coach – Zoltan Hunyady, Guelph, ON
Coach – Dave McKay, Port Moody, BC
Coach – Paul Ragusa, Kingston, ON

Prior to being named to the final Canadian Rio 2016 Team, all nominations are subject to approval by the Canadian Olympic Committee’s Team Selection Committee following its receipt of nominations by all National Sport Federations.

Story and Photo from the Canadian Olympic Team |