General News

Canadian sailing team nominated for Rio 2016

On Monday, the Canadian Olympic Committee (COC) and Sail Canada named the nine athletes nominated to represent Team Canada in sailing at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games from August 5 to 21.

The nine athletes selected include: Brenda Bowskill, Danielle Boyd, Nikola Girke, Lee Parkhill, Erin Rafuse, Luke Ramsay, Tom Ramshaw, as well as brothers Graeme Saunders and Jacob Saunders. The athletes earned their Rio spots at various World Cup and world championship events, highlighted by top-10 performances for Canadian sailors across several disciplines.

Olympic sailing consists of an opening series of races that use a low-point scoring system. This includes 10-12 races that are scheduled across the different events. Athletes complete the predetermined courses around marker buoys with the goal of crossing the finish line ahead of their competitors. The final consists of one race, where the top-10 sailors in each event compete in a double-point medal race. The athlete or team with the lowest points at the end of the series wins the overall event.

The sailing competition will be based out the Marina da Gloria, with sailing courses situated in the waters of Guanabara Bay from August 8 to18. Canadians will compete in six events: men’s Laser, women’s Laser Radial, men’s Finn, men’s 470, women’s 49er FX and mixed Nacra 17.

At Rio 2016, Canada will field a team of more than 315 athletes.

Sail Canada (formerly known as the Canadian Yachting Association) is the national governing body for the sport of sailing. The Association promotes sailing in all its forms through collaboration with our partners, the Provincial Sailing Associations, member clubs, schools, and many individual stakeholders. Follow Sail Canada on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and Snapchat.

The sailing team which will represent Canada at Rio 2016 includes:

Brenda Bowskill, Toronto, ON – Women’s Laser Radial
Danielle Boyd, Kingston, ON – Women’s 49er FX

Nikola Girke, West Vancouver, BC – Mixed Nacra 17
Lee Parkhill, Oakville, ON – Men’s Laser
Erin Rafuse, Halifax, NS – Women’s 49er FX
Luke Ramsay, Vancouver, BC – Mixed Nacra 17
Tom Ramshaw, Toronto, ON – Men’s Finn
Graeme Saunders, Chester, NS – Men’s 470
Jacob Saunders, Chester, NS – Men’s 470

Technical Expert – Ian Andrews, San Francisco, CA
Coach – Ken Dool, Kingston, ON
Coach – Steve Mitchell, Toronto, ON

Coach – Lisa Ross, Halifax, NS
Coach – Erik Stibbe, Vancouver, BC

Story and Photo from the Canadian Olympic Committee |