General News

Canadian rugby sevens team nominated for Rio 2016

On Friday, the Canadian Olympic Committee (COC) and Rugby Canada named the 12 athletes nominated to represent Team Canada in women’s rugby sevens at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games from August 5 to 21.

The 12 athletes selected include Britt Benn, Hannah Darling, Bianca Farella, Jen Kish, Ghislaine Landry, Megan Lukan, Kayla Moleschi, Karen Paquin, Kelly Russell, Ashley Steacy, Natasha Watcham-Roy and Charity Williams. The team is coached by John Tait and Sandro Fiorino.

Canada sealed its spot in the inaugural Olympic rugby sevens tournament with its second place finish on the 2014-15 HSBC Women’s Sevens Series.

After winning gold at last year’s Pan Am Games in Toronto, Canada finished third on the 2015-16 HSBC Women’s Sevens Series and concluded the season with a cup win at the Clermont Sevens.

Canada will continue its pre-Olympic preparations on Vancouver Island at Rugby Canada’s Centre of Excellence as well as the Pacific Institute for Sport Excellence (PISE). On July 26, an Olympic media celebration and Rio sendoff will take place at Nathan Phillips Square in Toronto from 12 p.m. to 1 p.m.

The women’s rugby sevens Olympic tournament takes place at Deodoro Stadium, August 6-8.

At Rio 2016, Canada expects to field a team of more than 315 athletes.

About Rugby Canada

Rugby Canada is the national governing body of the sport of rugby union in Canada. Rugby Football has a long history in Canada dating back to its initial appearance in the 1860s. Since 1974, Rugby Canada has been a permanent fixture on the global rugby scene, including trips to each of the eight Men’s Rugby World Cups and seven Women’s Rugby World Cups. As a regular on the Men’s and Women’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, Canada continues to climb the world rankings and challenge the dominant rugby nations in both versions of the game.

To support the growth of rugby at the grassroots level and to ensure there are elite programs for prospering young rugby players to become involved with, Rugby Canada has put an emphasis on developing its junior programs. Our goal is to develop and train competitive teams for the 2016 and 2020 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and Tokyo, Japan respectively, the 2017 Women’s Rugby World Cup in Ireland, 2018 Rugby World Cup Sevens in USA and 2019 Men’s Rugby World Cup in Japan.

The rugby sevens team that will represent Canada at Rio 2016 includes:


  • Britt Benn, Napanee, ON – Rugby Sevens
  • Hannah Darling, Warsaw, ON – Rugby Sevens
  • Bianca Farella, Montreal, QC – Rugby Sevens
  • Jen Kish, Edmonton, AB – Rugby Sevens
  • Ghislaine Landry, Toronto, ON – Rugby Sevens
  • Megan Lukan, Barrie, ON – Rugby Sevens
  • Kayla Moleschi, Williams Lake, BC – Rugby Sevens
  • Karen Paquin, Quebec City, QC – Rugby Sevens
  • Kelly Russell, Bolton, ON – Rugby Sevens
  • Ashley Steacy, Lethbridge, AB – Rugby Sevens
  • Natash Watcham-Roy, Gatineau, QC – Rugby Sevens

Coaches and Support Team:

  • Head Coach – John Tait, Mill Bay, BC
  • Assistant Coach – Sandro Fiorino, Markham, ON
  • Manager – Meaghan Howat, Toronto, ON
  • Performance Analyst – Callum Morris, Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Strength and Conditioning – Tyler Goodale, Winnipeg, MB
  • Therapist – Sandeep Nandhra, Victoria, BC
  • Therapist – Matt Tyler, Victoria, BC
  • Mental Performance Coach – Kirsten Barnes, Vancouver, BC

Story and Photo from the Canadian Olympic Committee |