General News

Athletics Canada team nominated for Rio 2016

On Monday, the Canadian Olympic Committee (COC) and Athletics Canada named the 65 athletes nominated to represent Team Canada in athletics at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games from August 5 to 21.

Some of the athletes selected include: Shawn Barber (pole vault, 2015 World Champion) and Derek Drouin (high jump, 2015 World Champion and 2012 Olympic bronze medallist) as well as 2015 IAAF World Championship individual medallists Andre De Grasse (sprints), Brianne Theisen-Eaton (heptathlon), Benjamin Thorne (race walk) and Damian Warner (decathlon). The team is led by Head Coach and Chief Technical Officer, Peter Eriksson.

The athletes earned their spots at the Canadian Championships and Selection Trials which took place July 7-10 at Foote Field in Edmonton, Alberta.

All athletics competitions will be held at the Olympic Stadium (Engenhão), except for the marathons which will take place in the area of Sambódromo and race walking events in Pontal.

At Rio 2016, Canada expects to field a team of approximately 315 athletes.

About Athletics Canada
Athletics Canada is the national governing body for track and field, cross country and road running. Its purpose, through collective leadership, is to drive growth in participation, and enabling sustainable international performances in a positive sport atmosphere.

The athletics team that will represent Canada at Rio 2016 includes:

Kelsie Ahbe, Toronto, ON – Pole Vault
Mohammed Ahmed, St. Catharines, ON – 5000m, 10,000m
Mobolade Ajomale, Richmond Hill, ON – 4x100m Relay
Shawn Barber, Toronto, ON – Pole Vault

Maria Bernard, Calgary, AB – 3000m Steeplechase
Mathieu Bilodeau, Calgary, AB – 50km Race Walk
Khamica Bingham, Brampton, ON – 4x100m Relay
Melissa Bishop, Eganville, ON – 800m
Nathan Brannen, Cambridge, ON – 1500m

Lucas Bruchet, Vancouver, BC – 5000m
Aaron Brown, Toronto, ON – 100m, 200m, 4x100m Relay
Alicia Brown, Ottawa, ON – 400m, 4x400m Relay

Jonathan Cabral, Péribonka, QC – 100m Hurdles
Chanice Chase, Toronto, ON – 400m Hurdles, 4x400m Relay
Kendra Clarke, Edmonton, AB – 400m, 4x400m Relay
Reid Coolsaet, Hamilton, ON – Marathon
Brittany Crew, East York, ON – Shot Put
Andre De Grasse, Markham, ON – 100m, 200m, 4x100m Relay

Derek Drouin, Corunna, ON – High Jump
Krista DuChene, Brantford, ON – Marathon

Evan Dunfee, Richmond, BC – 20km and 50km Race Walk
Crystal Emmanuel, East York, ON – 100m, 200m, 4x100m Relay
Phylicia George, Markham, ON – 100m Hurdles, 4x100m Relay

Eric Gillis, Antigonish, NS – Marathon
Elizabeth Gleadle, Vancouver, BC – Javelin
Iñaki Gomez, Vancouver, BC – 20km Racewalk
Akeem Haynes, Calgary, AB – 100m, 4x100m Relay
Nikkita Holder, Pickering, ON – 100m Hurdles
Matthew Hughes, Oshawa, ON – 3000m Steeplechase

Kimberly Hyacinthe, Terrebonne, QC – 200m, 4x100m Relay
Farah Jacques, Gatineau, QC – 4x100m Relay
Sekou Kaba, Ottawa, ON – 100m Hurdles
Marissa Kurtimah – Guelph, ON – 4x100m Relay

Geneviève Lalonde, Moncton, NB – 3000m Steeplechase
Oluwasegun Makinde, Ottawa, ON – 4x100m Relay
Lanni Marchant, London, ON – 10,000m, Marathon

Mike Mason, Nanoose Bay, BC – High Jump
Brandon McBride, Windsor, ON – 800m
Taylor Milne, Callander, ON – 3000m Steeplechase
Noelle Montcalm, Belle River, ON – 400m Hurdles

Carline Muir, Edmonton, AB – 400m, 4x400m Relay
Tim Nedow, Brockville, ON – Shot Put
Christabel Nettey, Surrey, BC – Long Jump
Annika Newell, Scarborough, ON – Pole Vault
Alysha Newman, London, ON – Pole Vault

Jessica O’Connell, Calgary, AB – 5000m
Charles Philibert-Thiboutot, Quebec City, QC – 1500m
Micha Powell, Montreal, QC – 4x400m Relay
Brendon Rodney, Brampton, ON – 200m, 4x100m Relay
Anthony Romaniw, Hamilton, ON – 800m
Andrea Seccafien, Guelph, ON – 5000m

Nicole Sifuentes, Winnipeg, MB – 1500m
Gabriela Stafford, Toronto, ON – 1500m
Heather Steacy, Lethbridge, AB – Hammer Throw
Hilary Stellingwerff, Victoria, BC – 1500m
Taryn Suttie, Hanley, SK – Shot Put
Erin Teschuk, Winnipeg, MB – 3000m Steeplechase
Brianne Theisen-Eaton, Humboldt, SK – Heptathlon
Benjamin Thorne, Kitimat, BC – 20km Race Walk
Alyxandria Treasure, Prince George, BC – High Jump
Damian Warner, London, ON – Decathlon
Sage Watson, Medicine Hat, AB – 400m Hurdles, 4x400m Relay
Angela Whyte, Edmonton, AB – 100m Hurdles
Chris Winter, North Vancouver, BC – 3000m Steeplechase
Natasha Wodak, Vancouver, BC – 10,000m

Coaches and Support Team:
Sprints/Hurdles – Charles Allen, Brampton, ON
Team Leader – Peter Eriksson, Ottawa, ON
Sprints/Relays – Glenroy Gilbert, Ottawa, ON

Endurance – Heather Hennigar, Halifax, NS
Jumps – Jeff Huntoon, Toronto, ON
Team Manager – Jared MacLeod, Winnipeg, MB
Sprints/Relays – Carla Nicolls, Regina, SK
Technical Manager – Ingrid Ruys, Victoria, BC
Assistant Manager – Jessica Scarlatro, Richmond Hill, ON
Endurance – Dave Scott-Thomas, Guelph, ON

Story and Photo from the Canadian Olympic Committee |